Making Coasters

Stefani Vader
2 min readAug 2, 2022
photo by author

My husband and I recently bought a laser engraver/cutter. Although it was a bit pricy, it was our anniversary/birthday/Christmas present to each other for the year. Every day we spend some time testing different material and trying new projects.

This week we’ve been messing around with making tile coasters.

The great thing about making tile coasters is the cost of material. Each tile cost about $.13 and the backing another $.16 for the backing. If we were to sell the sets for $15, that’s a $14.71 profit for us.

I made a goal of being able to quit my job by June 1st, 2024. This is the first step to make that dream happen.

There are other ones that we are working on as well.

photo by author

The acrylic paint pouring tiles I’m doing will cost a bit more. There’s an added cost for the paint as well as the resin used to coat it with. Even with those costs added though the profit margin is great.

We practiced on some slate coasters and I think those turned out well.

--

--

Stefani Vader

Lover of reading and writing. Hater of retail work. Small fish in a big pond, learning as I go.