Struggling To Set Routines

Journaling To Hold Myself Accountable

Stefani Vader
3 min readJan 8, 2023
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

When I set my goals this year, I knew what my largest hurdle in achieving those goals would be. I thought about ways I could work around it, but when push comes to shove, it all boils down to one thing. Consistency.

I thrive off routines. The problem is, my work schedule bounces all over the place. I work in retail management so there are days I open the store and have to get up very early, while other days I close and have to stay up pretty late. Other days are a mid-shift which means I can sleep in a bit and get home before I’m exhausted.

The days I do best as far as getting stuff done around the house or the writing I so desperately want to get done are the days I close. I usually wake up around seven, spend an hour waking up and drinking coffee, and then I will still have several hours to work on whatever I want. Those days aren’t the issue.

It’s my opening shifts that are the problem.

My sleeping patterns suck. I get a few hours here and there throughout the night. Very rarely will I sleep for more than three hours at a time. When I have to get up early, I’m exhausted. Add to that the two hours of commute time, the nine hour shift… I’m out of the house for eleven hours and by the time I get home my brain, body, and patience are…

--

--

Stefani Vader

Lover of reading and writing. Hater of retail work. Small fish in a big pond, learning as I go.