Want To Save Money? Why?

Stefani Vader
3 min readSep 18, 2022
Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

In the past I’ve been successful at saving money, but after a while I’d either spend it or lose momentum. Last year that all changed.

I set a goal for myself to quit my full time job for at least a year and see if I could get a side hustle going. I gave myself a quit date of June 1st, 2024. In order to do that though, I would need to save quite a bit of money.

I want to buy a truck before I do this, and I refuse to get another car loan. I’m done paying a large bank my hard-earned money. The truck I want right now is roughly $28,000. That means I need to save around $24,000 plus sell my car for at least $4,000 by the time I quit.

I also need to be able to pay my part of the bills (which is only about $1,000 a month) so that adds another $12,000 to what I need to save.

At the beginning of the year I buckled down and got serious. Now, nine months later, I’m astounded at what I’ve accomplished. It made me think back though and wonder, why? Why am I able to save so much now when in the past it hasn’t worked?

It’s All In The Why.

When the reason behind why you want to start saving money is not a big reason, it doesn’t push you to do whatever is necessary in order to stick with it.

--

--

Stefani Vader

Lover of reading and writing. Hater of retail work. Small fish in a big pond, learning as I go.